What's new

Android Ingress

I am rapidly becoming obsessed with Google Ingress. We first started talking about Augmented Reality (AR) in this thread, but Ingress really is something new and exciting. It's the first popular expression of AR in a game format.

ingress_161158267821_640x360.jpg

Three screen shots from the mobile interface. Source: http://www.techjailbreak.com/

beA1hxz.jpg

The browser 'google maps' interface where you can observe the game.

The game is in 'real world' locations as determined by your phone GPS (Android OS only). You go to marked areas of the map containing 'Portals' and attempt to capture them for one of two sides (Blue and Green), then defend them with the resources the portal generates/that you steal from the other sides' portals. 'Hacking' a portal, the simplest action to perform, provides loot to use in-game.

I'm really new to this game, having only downloaded it yesterday, but already I find myself taking impromptu hikes across campus to hack various portals in an attempt to level up and get more goodies! I'll update this thread with more as I find new stuff. Anyone else play this yet?

Oh, and these screenshots look awesome with the site's theme :)

Clarification: It's both an Augmented Reality game AND an Alternate Reality game. Augmented Reality imposes a digital information overlay on some part of reality while Alternate Reality is blends real aspects of the world with fiction to be more immersive. To make things difficult, both are commonly referred to using the acronym AR.

Clarification 2: Currently Android OS only. iOS in development

When I've levelled up I'll have some invites to give out, whenever that is.

I signed up for an invite on the website, but then I realized Android only =/
I tether my google Nexus tablet to my iPhone and use that - if you ever find that you have a cheap Android tablet (you can get cheap Chinese ones for like $60) - then it's worth a look. There's an iOS version in development too.