What's new

Just want to say thank you..

greeneguy

Hey everybody.

So I'm not quite sure where else I would post this, so I figured ranting would be the best place to! As some of you read in my application, I am gay. Now this may also sound contradictory for the fact that I also mentioned I don't like to flaunt it around or talk about it much, and I promise that's true.. I think it's just a coincidence that I feel like I need to talk about it again one more time!

Last night, I finally came out to my dad. I have been keeping it a secret from my family for about 4 years now, and it feels so good to let it out. I'm sure most of us have had to go through with admitting something to our family at one time or another..whether it was getting a tattoo, asking for money, getting a ride home from a party for being too drunk, or even coming out of the closet..so I'm sure most of you can understand how hard it is to tell your parents something embarrassing or secretive. Well, it was probably the hardest thing I have ever had to do..in my life.

The worst part was not knowing how he was going to react..whether our almost perfect relationship would shatter forever and become awkward, or if he would still accept me the way I was and not care. I had a feeling it would be the latter...and thank god I was right. We had a long talk, and it was so great to finally put it all on the table and for him to completely accept me the way I am. I am so lucky to have such a loving father who will love me no matter what. I still have yet to tell my mom (because it is almost certain she will not be okay with it), but that is not the point of this "rant".